About Us

Throughout England parish and town councils work towards improving community well being and providing better services at a local level. They are the tier of local government below the level of the unitary council, here in Ampthill this is Central Bedfordshire Council. Town and parish councils are the tier of local government closet to the people.

Ampthill Town Council (formerly Ampthill Urban District Council) has been a Successor Town Council since April 1974, pursuant to the Local Government Act 1972. Ampthill is situated in Mid Bedfordshire, with a population of approximately 7,000 and 3,150 households. The Town Council was awarded Quality Gold status in April 2015 and will seek renewal in 2019. Ampthill Town Council was the first Council in the country to achieve Quality Gold.

The Council comprises 12 members and meets regularly at the Council Chambers. The Mayor/Chairman of Ampthill for 2016/17 is Councillor Mrs Margaret Wilson and the Deputy/Vice Chairman is Councillor Simon Peacock.

Opening Hours: 9.30am to 4.30pm Monday to Thursday and to 4.00pm on Friday. Closed for lunch from 12.30pm to 1.30pm. Our offices are situated at 66 Dunstable Street (near to the Baptist Church). The Town Council offices will be relocating to Ampthill Great Park later this year, possibly September 2017.